Pancakes, Pancakes!

I am now offering private speech therapy and evaluations to children in the Boston area! Visit www.growstretchspeak.com to learn more!

Image

Last week in speech we read “Pancakes, Pancakes,” by Eric Carle. If you are not familiar with this story, it is about a little boy who wants to make pancakes for breakfast. Before he can make the pancakes, he must gather all of the ingredients and materials he will need to make them (including wheat , eggs, milk, butter and firewood). This is another GREAT story to target sequencing and retelling, which is a skill I am working on with many of my students.

I gathered some items from my box of pretend food to use as story telling props. Items included:

-A metal pail of “milk”

-A bag of “flour” (this bag was empty, much to the disappointment of my students)

-A toy egg

-A toy bowl, pan and ladle

-A pretend container of “strawberry jam”

I also created a few other items using materials I found around my room. To make the “fire” I cut a few pieces of cardboard and crumpled up some tissue paper. The pancake is made from felt (with a piece of yellow paper for the “butter”). Students used the props to retell the story. We also worked on describing similarities and differences between items. For example, “What is the same about a spoon and a ladle?…What makes them different?”).

Students LOVED gathering firewood and cooking their “pancakes.”

Image

I have started putting all of the story retelling props in labeled baggies to go along with each book. I think this will save me a lot of time and energy next year!

I encourage you to check out this wonderful story. Bonus points if you make real pancakes after you read it! (Oh and if you do…here is a great recipe for healthy,kid friendly pancakes).

Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes (Healthy Breakfast for Kids)

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

