If you have junk in your purse/car/couch etc….you can make this awesome language activity!

I had a LOT of paperwork to do this week…thus, my creativity was a bit stifled due to long hours in front of my computer.  With that being said, it seems that the most simple activities are often the most well received by my students. Meet this week’s craft…it doesn’t really have a name, but I can assure you that it is awesome. Here is what I did….

Step 1:

I found all the random bits and pieces of things that didn’t have a place in my room. (Think: displaced legos, impractical erasers, paperclips etc).

Step 2:

Put said random bits and pieces into an old toiletry bag with a zipper.

Step 3:

Duck taped a toilet paper roll to the top of a tissue box.

Step 4: (Optional)

Decorated toilet paper roll and box with Washi tape. (What’s that? You don’t own 50 rolls of Washi tape that you store on a Lazy Susan style dispenser which was designed specifically for Washi tape?…weird.).

image (2)

Here is how we used this activity….

Students took turns reaching into the bag (without peeking, of course) and were asked to make a prediction about whether or not that item would fit through the tube.

image (3)

I provided this visual support for several students. These sentences were great for my kindergartners because they are filled with sight words! Even though sight word recognition is not a direct therapy goal for my students, it is a great way to incorporate reading into their language therapy.

Here are some areas I targeted with my younger students:

1. 4-5 Word Sentences

2. Future Tense Sentences (“The ______will fit.)

3. Describing (“Tell me about the item you found.”)

4. Basic Concepts (Big/Small/ Wide/Narrow/Tall/Short)

With older students, I targeted…

1. Expanded Sentences (“The _______ did not fit because it was too big.”)

2. Using Language to Make Predictions and Verbalize Results

Visual Supports

3. Future and Past Tense Sentences (“The ______will fit through the tube.” “The _____went through the tube.”)

4. Answering “why” questions (“Why didn’t the tractor fit through the tube?”)

This is definitely an activity I will be using again. My students LOVED it. I will probably swap out the items and use a longer tube to mix things up. I plan to use it with all my preschool classes next week to target the concepts wide and narrow (each student in the class will take a turn picking something and testing it to see if fits). I love that this activity uses a multi-sensory approach. I find that using real objects (rather than pictures), provides a much richer experience. I also love that it was SO easy to make!

Okay….now stop reading and go search for junk under the couch cushions so you can make your own.

Happy recycling!

-Katie

Leave a Reply

