Bring on the toilet paper rolls folks, I’m doing a recycled craft challenge!

photo (6)

Happy New Year! As always, the holidays were a bit of a whirlwind. I am enjoying my last few hours of holiday break before it’s back to the grind tomorrow. Although I love time off, I do enjoy getting back into my routine and seeing all of my little friends again. During my break, I had the opportunity to obtain a Green Classroom Professional Certificate through the U.S. Green Building Council. This training was awesome, and I would highly recommend it to any school or district  looking to create healthy, resource-efficient and environmentally sustainable learning spaces.

One segment of the training focused on using recycled materials in classrooms. This idea was not totally new to me, and I will admit that I have started to become a bit of a hoarder when it comes to  toilet paper rolls, egg cartons and yogurt containers. I frequently use crafts and projects to target different speech and language goals, however, I don’t utilize recycled materials nearly as much as I’d like to. Thus, I have decided that 2014 will be the year I embark on my recycling challenge. So here is my plan….

I am not going to purchase any new materials for craft projects from now until the end of the school year. Instead, I plan to use up materials I already have, as well as recycled materials from the school or my home (or other people’s homes….”hello kind neighbors, do you have any empty toilet paper rolls or yogurt cups you’re not planning on using?”). Each time I come up with a new recycled craft,  I will post it!

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I have a weakness for craft supplies, particularly those that have been purchased with a Michael’s 50% off coupon. So, this will not only be an environmental endeavor, but a complete test of my willpower….and it begins tomorrow. Stay tuned!

-Katie

Leave a Reply

